Foundation Songwriter Series

Just Announced !

The Cheatham Street Music Foundation is delighted to announce the restart of our Songwriter Series.  Mark your calendars and come out in support of our performing artists.

All Shows are Free to the Public

Click the Underlined Artist’s Name for  More Information About the Artist

April 14th 2021  7:30 – 9:00 PM   Big John Mills and Jay White

May 9th 2021  7:30 – 9:00 PM   Robert Cline Jr. and Sterling Finlay

June 23rd 2021  7:30 – 9:00 PM   Ike Eichenberg & MariLisa and Tanner Swain

July 28th 2021  7:30 – 9:00 PM   Missoula Slim and Erich Siemens

August 18th 2021  7:30 – 9:00 PM   Kathleen O’Keefe and Daniel Driver

All Songwriter Series shows will be followed by Kent Finlay’s Songwriter Circle so stick around after the show to support and enjoy some great local talent.  See the Kent Finlay’s Songwriters Circle Tab under Programs for more information on show dates and times.

Check Back for additional shows and performing artist information as it becomes available. 

The Cheatham Street Music Foundation Songwriter Series:

On January 22nd, the Cheatham Street Music Foundation Songwriter Series presents a special performance by Neal Ford and Frank Iarossi. The performance, which is free to the public, will run from 7:30 to 9:00pm, right before the weekly Kent Finlay’s Songwriters Circle at Cheatham Street Warehouse.


February 26, 2020 – 8:30pm
Bill Malone & Bobbie Malone

Widely recognized as country music’s ranking senior authority, Bill C. Malone is an author, musician, and noted historian of traditional American musical forms. His seminal work, Country Music, U.S.A., published over fifty years ago, was the first definitive and still stands as the most authoritative academic history on the subject. Now in its fourth edition, the book launched the study of this unique American art form and opened the field to hundreds of historians in its wake.

Bill’s love of music was kindled at an early age. He was born in the midst of the Great Depression on a cotton-growing tenant farm in rural Texas, twenty miles west of Tyler, where “music,” he remembers, “was a constant companion.”

Malone and his family began singing locally. He continued the practice while working toward his B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Texas, becoming a well-known singer in the Austin area, distinguished by his encyclopedic storehouse of songs. It was after a road trip to the Bluebonnet Bowl, during which Bill sang countless old hillbilly songs, that his supervising professor suggested the topic for Malone’s Ph.D. thesis: Country music.

I think country music, in many respects, is America’s truest music because it comes closer to really reflecting and voicing the aspirations, the fears, the prejudices of average people. The everyday problems of survival are voiced in country music, in my humble opinion, better than they are in any other form of music. There’s always been a very strong dose of both reality and fantasy in country music. And I think that’s important to people.

Malone received his Ph.D. in January 1965 and took the manuscript of his thesis to the University of Texas Press. They published it as Country Music, U.S.A. Since then, the book has become a cornerstone of American music history. In 1984, Bill received a Guggenheim Fellowship to further his research into Southern music and, in 2008, a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society for American Music. His other books include Don’t Get above Your Raisin’: Country Music and the Southern Working Class, Southern Music/American Music, and Sing Me Back Home: Southern Roots and Country Music.


The Songwriter Series features public performances by singer-songwriters who were mentored, inspired, or influenced by Kent Finlay at Cheatham Street Warehouse. These special scheduled performances, free to the public and sponsored by the Cheatham Street Music Foundation, are part of the Foundation’s commitment to preserving and promoting Kent’s legacy. They will be scheduled and held in cooperation with Cheatham Street Warehouse, which supports the Foundation’s efforts to host Songwriter’s Circle each Wednesday night as well as other special events from time to time.

This will be a “listening” night full of stories, songs, and reflections on Kent’s legacy. We hope to see a lot of you there!

Future Events:

March 11, 2020 – 8:30pm
Brigitte London & Mick Byrd.

Throughout her career, Brigitte London has been called a renegade, gypsy, outlaw, highwaywoman. Her songwriting and powerhouse vocals have attracted an A -list lineup of backing musicians live and on record that have included legends.

Brigitte worked on recording projects with the likes of the late great Jerry Reed & Porter Wagoner, Marty Stuart, Bobby Keys of the Rolling Stones, Dale Watson and many more. She’s released ten albums and traveled the world with her songs. But despite urgings from Industry heavyweights, Brigitte London has remained independent, determined to stay in creative control of her music. A poet at heart, words, music and love are her life’s passion.

Brigitte was recently featured on the Discovery Channel’s Killing Fields Season Two premiere performing her song, “She’s In The Bayou.” She is currently working on her eleventh album, a collection of Billy Joe Shaver and Kris Kristofferson songs. An advocate for independent music, Brigitte is a founding member and producer of the Last Honky Tonk Music Series, producer and host of The Highwaywoman Radio Show (2008-current), Honky Tonk Hometown Radio Show (2016-current) and a new show, Last Honky Tonk Music Series Radio Show. She also produces multiple festivals and live music events and is co-founder and editor of Outlaw Magazine. Brigitte is also the founder and director of Songs on the Bayou Songwriters Festival in Morgan City, Louisiana.

Mick Byrd-

The Missouri Ozarks is both home and backdrop to Mick Byrd, a Missouri Arts Council Touring Performer and member of the Missouri Blues Society, the Nashville Songwriter’s Association International (NSAI) and Tennessee Songwriter’s Association International (TSAI), who regularly performs at Nashville’s Bluebird Café’s Songwriter’s Night.

An award from Billboard Magazine kicked off his music career in 1994. Nine recordings later, Mick will introduce you to an amazing array of original Progressive Country, Roots Rock and his signature, “Ozark Blues.”  Whether performing with The Backroad Band or touring solo, Mick brings audiences a snapshot of life in the Midwest with warm, powerful vocals and finger picked guitar.

Past Shows Have Included:

Terri Hendrix & Susan Gibson

Jeff Plankenhorn & Michael O’Connor

The Weeping Willows with HalleyAnna & Dustin Welch

Grant Ewing & Pake Rossi

Mike Ethan Messik & Jordan Minor

Jamie Lynn Wilson & Bill Whitbeck

George Ensle & Shad Blair

Shelley King and John Arrthur Martinez

Adam and Chris Carroll

Tish Hinojosa and Mark Jungers